Offices How Do I
About Us Services
Click to Home
Go To Search
Board of Commissioners
The Board of Commissioners are the chief governing body of Centre County.  The commissioner are elected every four years by the citizens of Centre County.  The 2012-2015 Board of Commissioners is comprised of Chairman Steven G. Dershem, Vice-Chairman C. Chris Exarchos and Michael Pipe.  Their statutory authority is primarily of an administrative nature and is set forth in the County Code of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as well as other legislation, adopted by the Pennsylvania General Assembly.

The Commissioners appoint personnel, supervise County offices and programs, and contract, on behalf of the County, in a variety of program areas.

As the fiscal managers of the County, the Commissioners are responsible for developing and adopting of the annual budget, assessment of property, levying of taxes, and as necessary, the borrowing of funds for construction of capital projects. 

They are involved in various countywide initiatives from such matters as increasing economic development to monitoring the efficiency and effectiveness of County provided programs and services. 

They also serve on the Board of Assessment, Board of Elections, Salary Board, Retirement Board, Employees Benefit Trust, and Prison Board (along with other County-elected officials), as well as serving on several human services boards.

Centre County Board of Commissioners' meetings are recorded each Tuesday by C-NET.  The meetings are televised live on C-NET Channel 7 on the Comcast Cable system.

To watch recorded Commissioners' meetings online, with bookmarked agenda items, click on this link:

To watch meetings recorded prior to June 26, 2015, please visit

Contact Us
Board of Commissioners
Steven G. Dershem, Chair
C. Chris Exarchos, Vice-Chair
Michael Pipe, Commissioner
Administrative Services  
Tim Boyde, County Administrator
Denise Elbell, Director of Financial Management/
Deputy County Administrator
Board of Commissioners
Steven G. Dershem, Chair

C. Chris Exarchos, Vice-Chair

Michael Pipe, Commissioner

Director of Administrative Services
Tim Boyde

Director of Financial Management/
Deputy Administrator

Denise Elbell

Willowbank Office Building
420 Holmes St
Bellefonte, PA 16823-1488

Ph: (814) 355-6700
Fx: (814) 355-6980

Monday - Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm