Offices How Do I
About Us Services
Click to Home
Go To Search
Conservation District Board
The Centre County Conservation District is a unit of county government and a sub-unit of state government responsible for local soil and water conservation program administration, including education, delegated enforcement, and providing technical and financial assistance to landowners. Information and assistance is provided to the general public, school students, contractors, developers, consultants, farmers, loggers, cooperating agencies and civic groups.

The Centre County Conservation District was formed at the request of farmers and others in the county who were interested in the conservation of soil and water resources and land use planning.  In 1954, Centre County was declared a district by the Board of Commissioners. The district is a subdivision of state government and is currently administered by a seven-member Board of Directors.

Meeting Schedule
Board meetings are held the first Wednesday of the month at 7:30 pm in Room 146 of the Willowbank Office Building.

The Centre County Conservation District Board of Directors is comprised of at least four farm directors, no less than two public directors and one county commissioner director.  The members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. 

Term Length
4 Years

Current Members
Board Member  Director Type  Term Expires
Thomas E. Boldin Farmer  December 31, 2019
Steven G. Dershem Commissioner December 31, 2019
Allen C. Ishler Farmer December 31, 2020
Lori Hartle Public December 31, 2019
Robert Shannon  Public December 31, 2021
James Walizer  Farmer December 31, 2022
Matthew Ulmer Farmer December 31, 2021