Offices How Do I
About Us Services
Click to Home
Go To Search
Recycling & Refuse Authority
cccraThe Centre County Recycling & Refuse Authority (CCRRA) was created in 1972, with its initial purpose to construct and operate a municipal waste transfer station so that area haulers would not have to drive to the Carlin Landfill in Snow Shoe Township.  In 1988, the PA General Assembly passed Act 101, which mandated recycling for certain size municipalities and required county municipal waste management plans. The Act also established a grant program to assist municipalities in developing the mandated recycling programs. In order to meet state mandates, the Authority applied for and received approximately $2 million in grants to construct a recycling processing facility, purchase collection equipment and provide recycling educational services. Since the Act placed the mandate upon county government, Centre County Government elected to enter into a delegation agreement with the Centre County Recycling & Refuse Authority, whereby the Authority was responsible for implementing the requirements of Act 101.  Visit the CCRRA website at

Mission Statement
It is the mission of the Centre County Recycling & Refuse Authority to provide environmentally sound and economically efficient integrated waste management, reduction and recycling services; to work cooperatively with the private sector and to provide educational services with the intent of enhancing the quality of life in Centre County.

Meeting Schedule
Authority board meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of the month at 5:30 pm in the board room of the Recycling & Refuse Authority Administrative Building at 253 Transfer Road.  Below are the dates for the 2013 meetings:

  • February 27
  • March 27
  • April 24
  • May 22
  • June 26
  • July 24 (This meeting is sometimes cancelled)
  • August 28
  • September 25
  • October 23
  • November 20
  • December 18 (This meeting may be changed to earlier in the day)

The Recycling & Refuse Authority consists of seven voting members each representing a different geographic area of the County. The members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. View Current Members

Term Length
5 Years

Current Members
Members   Term Expires
Jenn Shufran December 2022
Trilby Mayes December 2018
David Pensak December 2018
Richard Stehouwer December 2019
Dennis Hameister December 2019
Mark Henry December 2020
Irvin Hoy
December 2021
Ted Onufrak CCRRA Executive Director