Agricultural Land Preservation Board


The creation of the Centre County Agricultural Land Preservation Board in August 1989 signified the County's full scale commitment to Pennsylvania's farmland preservation program. The Centre County Commissioners appointed nine members to the Board in accordance with the provisions contained within Agricultural Area Security Law, PA Act 43 as amended. Since that time the Commissioners have continued to support the program through providing staff support and matching funds for the purchase of agricultural land conservation easements. To date, 51 farms in seven Townships totaling over 7,600 acres have been preserved.

Goals and Objectives

  • Administer a program for purchasing agricultural conservation easements in accordance with Act 43 of 1981 as amended and 7 Pa Code 138.
  • To preserve the prime agricultural soils of Centre County by purchasing, in the name of the County, or jointly, with a Local Government Unit and/or the Commonwealth, agricultural conservation easements within Agricultural Security Areas.
  • Promote efforts to support the agricultural community in Centre County.
  • Encourage the use of additional farmland preservation techniques through public and private organizations in Centre County.



Staff Contact

Diana Griffith
Agricultural Preservation Coordinator
(814) 355-6791
Email Diana Griffith

Meeting Schedule

The Ag Land Preservation Board meets the fourth Thursday of the month at 7:30 PM at the Willowbank Office Building in Room 146. Check calendar for current meeting dates.

View Meeting Schedule
View Meeting Agendas & Minutes


Nine members appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Four farmers, one township supervisor or borough council member, one commercial, industrial or residential building contractor, and three other members.

Term Length

3 Years

Current Members

Member Category
Term Expires
Joseph HomanOtherDecember 31, 2022
Dennis E. BuffingtonMunicipal OfficialAugust 31, 2020
Thomas E. Boldin, TreasurerFarmerAugust 31, 2022
Carl V. Homan, SecretaryFarmerAugust 31, 2022
Ronald J. HooverFarmerAugust 31, 2021
Norman Lathbury, ChairmanOtherAugust 31, 2020
Frederick G. MooreOtherAugust 31, 2020
Thomas F. Songer, IIIContractorAugust 31, 2021
Cindy B. Harding, Vice PresidentFarmerAugust 31, 2021