Mental Health & Intellectual Disabilities Advisory Board

The Centre County Mental Health/Intellectual Disability/Early Intervention (MH/ID/EI) Advisory Board was instituted by the MH and MR Act of 1966 of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The purpose of the MH/ID/EI Advisory Board is to review and evaluate MH/ID/EI needs, services, facilities, and special problems in relation to the local health and welfare needs, services and program; to make recommendations to the MH/ID/EI Administrator and to the County Commissioners regarding the program and any other matters relating to MH/ID/EI services in the county, including purchases of service contracts and the extent of funds required to implement the program; to develop, together with the MH/ID/EI Administrator, continuing plans for the program; and, to review performance under the mental health and intellectual disability program and to participate in evaluations of the service delivery system.

Meeting Schedule

The Board meets at noon via video-conference.  If you wish to participate in a public meeting, please submit your request to and we will forward a meeting link to you.  The meetings for 2021 are as follows:

Monday, February 8 

Monday, April 19

Monday, June 21

Monday, August 16

Monday, October 25

Monday, December 20


The thirteen members of the MH/ID/EI Advisory Board are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. According to 55 Pa. Code § 4200.11, the members of the advisory board shall consist of:

  • one representative of the Board of Commissioners
  • at least two physicians (where possible, one shall be a psychiatrist and the other a pediatrician)
  • at least two professionals from the fields of psychology, social work, nursing, education or religion
  • at least one member of a citizens’ organizations active in the field of mental health
  • at least one member of a citizens’ organizations active in the field of intellectual disabilities
  • at least one member from either a health and welfare planning organization or a hospital
  • at least one member from a community group whose membership represents the economically, socially, and culturally disadvantaged

Term Length

3 Years

Current Members

Board MembersTerm Expires
VacantJuly 2022
VacantJuly 2022
Timothy DerstineJune 30, 2024
Heather DickApril 2023
Matthew EckleyApril 2023
Greg GaertnerJune 30, 2024
Laura GardnerMarch 2025
Kristie KaufmanJune 30, 2024
Levent KayaJuly 2022
Kristi MattzelaOctober 2022
Gowen RoperAugust 2022
Nathan VarnerJanuary 2025
Natalie Corman, Human Services Administrator
Amber Concepcion, Commissioner Vice-Chair